Skip to main content

Tessa Hadley


Tessa Hadley

Tessa Hadley is the author of five highly praised novels: ACCIDENTS IN THE HOME, which was longlisted for The Guardian First Book Award; EVERYTHING WILL BE ALL RIGHT; THE MASTER BEDROOM; THE LONDON TRAIN, which was a New York Times Notable Book; and CLEVER GIRL. She is also the author of two short story collections, SUNSTROKE and MARRIED LOVE, which were New York Times Notable Books as well. Her stories appear regularly in The New Yorker. She lives in London.

Tessa Hadley

Books by Tessa Hadley

by Tessa Hadley - Fiction, Short Stories

In these short stories from the award-winning author of THE PAST, it’s the ordinary things that turn out to be most extraordinary. Two sisters quarrel over an inheritance and a new baby; a child awake in the night explores the familiar rooms of her home, made strange by the darkness; a housekeeper caring for a helpless old man uncovers secrets from his past. The first steps into a turning point and a new life are made so easily and carelessly. Each of these stories illuminate crucial moments of transition, often imperceptible to the protagonists.

by Tessa Hadley - Fiction

Four middle-aged siblings meet in their grandparents’ home in the English town of Kington for a three-week holiday. They have convened to discuss whether or not to sell the house, but family tensions dominate conversations. The brother has brought his Argentinian third wife, whom the three sisters haven’t met. One sister brings an ex-boyfriend’s teenage son; another laments her unsatisfying love life. THE PAST is a quiet exploration of suppressed desire and internal struggles.