Skip to main content

Maggie O'Farrell


Maggie O'Farrell

Born in Northern Ireland in 1972, Maggie O’Farrell grew up in Wales and Scotland and now lives in London. She has worked as a waitress, chambermaid, bike messenger, teacher, arts administrator, and journalist in Hong Kong and London, and as the deputy literary editor of The Independent on Sunday. Her debut novel, AFTER YOU'D GONE (2000), won a Betty Trask Award and was followed by MY LOVER'S LOVER (2002); THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US (2004), winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX (2006); THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE (2010), winner of the Costa Novel Award; INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE (2013); THIS MUST BE THE PLACE (2016); and I AM, I AM, I AM (2018).

Maggie O'Farrell

Books by Maggie O'Farrell

by Maggie O'Farrell - Memoir, Nonfiction

I AM, I AM, I AM is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers. Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots.

by Maggie O'Farrell - Fiction

Daniel Sullivan leads a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and his wife, Claudette, is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Together, they have made an idyllic life in the country, but a secret from Daniel’s past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home.