Skip to main content

Win SEVEN Great Titles in Our Valentine's Day Contest!

Enter now through Monday, February 16th at noon ET for your chance to be one of five lucky winners!

Enter to Win One of 25 Copies of Michael Callahan's SEARCHING FOR GRACE KELLY

The deadline for entries is Tuesday, February 24th at noon ET.

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN is Paula Hawkins' Highly Anticipated Psychological Thriller

Every day on her commute, Rachel watches the same couple, charmed by their seemingly perfect life --- until she sees something shocking.

20 Books from the Famous Virginia Woolf

We have enough of the famous author's books so you, too, will not be afraid that you do not know your Virginia Woolf!

For fans of THE PARIS WIFE and LOVING FRANK

Parmar's captivating, second novel offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the Bloomsbury Group.

Books Hitting the Big Screen in Early 2015

The top 20 adaptations we're most excited to see in the silverscreen in the months to come.

Blog

January 26, 2015
Time recently released their list of the 100 best YA books. Like all “best of” lists, it can be taken with a grain of salt, especially because the category of YA only really became a...
January 13, 2015
The holidays may be over, but that doesn’t mean it’s time to forget the spirit of giving. Books make fantastic presents, not only because they're a way to share a personal part of...
December 12, 2014
Holiday season is a time of giving --- also of consumerism and incessantly peppy songs that play on repeat. Even if you’re generally an agreeable person, it’s a time of year that can...

Coffee Break

The memoir that details the author’s life growing up with a drug-addicted father in a world of rapidly changing moods, precarious living situations and wildly inconsistent emotions.

A LIST OF THINGS THAT DIDN’T KILL ME
By Jason Schmidt

Reviews

When a 14-year-old girl is the alleged victim of a terrible act of racial violence, the incident shocks and galvanizes her community, exacerbating the racial tension that has been simmering in this New Jersey town for decades. In THE SACRIFICE, Joyce Carol Oates explores the uneasy fault lines in a racially troubled society. In such a tense, charged atmosphere, Oates reveals that there must always be a sacrifice --- of innocence, truth, trust and, ultimately, lives.

Inside a Silver Box by Walter Mosley - Speculative Fiction

Two people brought together by a horrific act are united in a common cause by the powers of the Silver Box. They join to protect humanity from destruction by an alien race, the Laz, hell-bent on regaining control over the Silver Box, the most destructive and powerful tool in the universe. The Silver Box will stop at nothing to prevent its former master from returning to being, even if it means finishing the earth itself.

In Las Vegas, Lester Olsen treats gorgeous young women to five-star restaurants, splashy shows and limo rides --- and then teaches them how to kill. Private Jack Morgan spends most of his time in Los Angeles, where his top investigation firm has its headquarters. But a hunt for two criminals leads him to the city of sin --- and to a murder ring that is more seductively threatening than anything he's witnessed before.

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon - Urban Fantasy

Paige Mahoney is now the face of a rebellion, having broken out of the clairvoyant prison camp. She’s also the most wanted person in Scion-controlled London at the moment, with her photo repeatedly plastered on screens across the city. The underworld might be able to protect her from Scion, but she isn’t content to hide. She wants to expose the Rephaim, the immortal inhabitants of the Netherworld, for what they are. It seems that Paige isn’t ready to give back her acquired title of rebellion leader just yet.

Shark Skin Suite by Tim Dorsey - Fiction/Humor

Ruthless at taking down the greedy banksters kicking people out of their homes, young lawyer Brook Campanella --- one of Serge Storms’ old flames --- lands a major class-action lawsuit and wins big. The opposition is determined to shut her down, and they’ll go to extreme lengths to do it. Luckily for her, Serge has been hired to do some investigative legwork on the case. There's nothing he likes better than saving a damsel in distress, especially when it means kicking a bunch of shyster butt.

Ryder Creed and his dogs have intercepted several major drug stashes being smuggled through Atlanta’s airport. But their newfound celebrity has also garnered some unwanted attention. Meanwhile, FBI agent Maggie O’Dell is investigating a series of murders and suspects it’s the work of a cunning and brutal assassin. Unfortunately, by the time she uncovers a hit list with Creed’s name on it, it might be too late.

Chief Superintendent Simon Serrailler is asked to take the principal role in a potentially dangerous undercover operation. He must leave town immediately, without telling anyone --- not even his girlfriend Rachel, who has only just moved in with him. To complete his special operation, Simon must inhabit the mind of the worst kind of criminal. This takes its toll on him and --- as the investigation unfolds --- also on the town and some of its most respected citizens.

One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis - Psychological Thriller

A happy marriage. A beautiful family. A lovely home. So what makes Emily Coleman get up one morning and walk right out of her life? Emily now has become Cat, working at a hip advertising agency in London and living on the edge with her inseparable new friend, Angel. Cat has buried any trace of her old self so well, no one knows how to find her. But she can't bury the past --- or her own memories. And soon, she’ll have to face the truth of what she's done --- a shocking revelation that may push her one step too far.

In December 1992, three groups of teenagers head to the theater to see the movie version of the famed Eons & Empires comic books. For Adam, it's a last-ditch effort to connect with a girl before he leaves town for good. Sharon skips school so she can fully appreciate the flick without interruption from her vapid almost-friends. And Phoebe and Ollie simply want to have a nice first date and maybe fool around in the dark, if everyone they know could just stop getting in the way. Over the next two decades, these characters criss-cross the globe, becoming entwined by friendship, sex, ambition, fame and tragedy.

With determination and audacity, Josephine Baker turned her comic and musical abilities into becoming a worldwide icon of the Jazz Age. THE MANY FACES OF JOSEPHINE BAKER: Dancer, Singer, Activist, Spy provides the first in-depth portrait of this remarkable woman for young adults. This lively biography covers her outspoken participation in the U.S. Civil Rights Movement, espionage work for the French Resistance during World War II, and adoption of 12 children --- her “rainbow tribe.”

I Was Here by Gayle Forman - Fiction, Mystery, Romance

When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything --- so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, and some secrets of his own. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open --- until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

I'm Glad I Did by Cynthia Weil - Young Adult Fiction
It's the summer of 1963 and JJ Green is a born songwriter—which is a major problem, considering that her family considers the music business a cesspool of lowlifes and hustlers. Defying them, she takes an internship at the Brill Building, the epicenter of a new sound called rock and roll. JJ is finally living her dream. She even finds herself a writing partner in Luke Silver, a boy with mesmerizing green eyes who seems to connect instantly with her music. Best of all, they’ll be cutting their first demo with Dulcie Brown, a legend who’s fallen on hard times. Though Dulcie is now a custodian in the Brill Building, JJ is convinced that she can shine again. But Dulcie’s past is a tangle of secrets, and when events take a dark turn, JJ must navigate a web of hidden identities and shattered lives—before it snares her, too.
Josh Sundquist only ever had one girlfriend. For twenty-three hours. In eighth grade. Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong? The results of Josh's semiscientific, wholly hilarious investigation are captured here. From a disastrous Putt-Putt date involving a backward prosthetic foot, to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing), to a misguided "grand gesture" at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love -- or at least a girlfriend -- in all the wrong places.
Outcast Written by Robert Kirkman and drawn by Paul Azaceta - Comics / Graphic Novel

A new horror series from THE WALKING DEAD creator Robert Kirkman! Kyle Barnes has been plagued by demonic possession all his life and now he needs answers. Unfortunately, what he uncovers along the way could bring about the end of life on Earth as we know it!

March: Book Two written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell - Graphic Novel

Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy with co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell. After the success of the Nashville sit-in campaign, Lewis is more committed than ever to changing the world through nonviolence --- but as he and his fellow Freedom Riders board a bus into the vicious heart of the deep south, they will be tested like never before.