Skip to main content

Win SEVEN Great Titles in Our Valentine's Day Contest!

Enter now through Monday, February 16th at noon ET for your chance to be one of five lucky winners!

Enter to Win One of 25 Copies of Michael Callahan's SEARCHING FOR GRACE KELLY

The deadline for entries is Tuesday, February 24th at noon ET.

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN is Paula Hawkins' Highly Anticipated Psychological Thriller

Every day on her commute, Rachel watches the same couple, charmed by their seemingly perfect life --- until she sees something shocking.

20 Books from the Famous Virginia Woolf

We have enough of the famous author's books so you, too, will not be afraid that you do not know your Virginia Woolf!

For fans of THE PARIS WIFE and LOVING FRANK

Parmar's captivating, second novel offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the Bloomsbury Group.

Books Hitting the Big Screen in Early 2015

The top 20 adaptations we're most excited to see in the silverscreen in the months to come.

Blog

January 26, 2015
Time recently released their list of the 100 best YA books. Like all “best of” lists, it can be taken with a grain of salt, especially because the category of YA only really became a...
January 13, 2015
The holidays may be over, but that doesn’t mean it’s time to forget the spirit of giving. Books make fantastic presents, not only because they're a way to share a personal part of...
December 12, 2014
Holiday season is a time of giving --- also of consumerism and incessantly peppy songs that play on repeat. Even if you’re generally an agreeable person, it’s a time of year that can...

Coffee Break

The memoir that details the author’s life growing up with a drug-addicted father in a world of rapidly changing moods, precarious living situations and wildly inconsistent emotions.

A LIST OF THINGS THAT DIDN’T KILL ME
By Jason Schmidt

Reviews

I Was Here by Gayle Forman - Fiction, Mystery, Romance

When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything --- so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, and some secrets of his own. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open --- until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

I'm Glad I Did by Cynthia Weil - Young Adult Fiction
It's the summer of 1963 and JJ Green is a born songwriter—which is a major problem, considering that her family considers the music business a cesspool of lowlifes and hustlers. Defying them, she takes an internship at the Brill Building, the epicenter of a new sound called rock and roll. JJ is finally living her dream. She even finds herself a writing partner in Luke Silver, a boy with mesmerizing green eyes who seems to connect instantly with her music. Best of all, they’ll be cutting their first demo with Dulcie Brown, a legend who’s fallen on hard times. Though Dulcie is now a custodian in the Brill Building, JJ is convinced that she can shine again. But Dulcie’s past is a tangle of secrets, and when events take a dark turn, JJ must navigate a web of hidden identities and shattered lives—before it snares her, too.
Josh Sundquist only ever had one girlfriend. For twenty-three hours. In eighth grade. Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong? The results of Josh's semiscientific, wholly hilarious investigation are captured here. From a disastrous Putt-Putt date involving a backward prosthetic foot, to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing), to a misguided "grand gesture" at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love -- or at least a girlfriend -- in all the wrong places.
Outcast Written by Robert Kirkman and drawn by Paul Azaceta - Comics / Graphic Novel

A new horror series from THE WALKING DEAD creator Robert Kirkman! Kyle Barnes has been plagued by demonic possession all his life and now he needs answers. Unfortunately, what he uncovers along the way could bring about the end of life on Earth as we know it!

March: Book Two written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell - Graphic Novel

Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy with co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell. After the success of the Nashville sit-in campaign, Lewis is more committed than ever to changing the world through nonviolence --- but as he and his fellow Freedom Riders board a bus into the vicious heart of the deep south, they will be tested like never before.

A woman’s body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe Beckham is called upon to monitor the investigation. The FBI is tracking a killer in South Florida they call “Cutter” because his brutal methods harken back to Florida’s dark past, when machete-wielding men cut sugarcane by hand in the blazing sun. But when the Feds discover that Abe had a brief encounter with the victim after his first wife’s death, and when his current wife goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire.

After her sister-in-law dies, retired FBI agent Brigid Quinn’s niece, Gemma Kate, comes to live with her and her husband, Carlo. There's always been something unsettling about Gemma Kate, but family is family. Meanwhile, Brigid agrees to help a local couple by investigating the death of their son --- until dangerous things start to happen. As the menace comes closer and closer to home, Brigid begins to wonder if she can trust anyone.

Otto finds a note left by his wife in the kitchen of their farmhouse in windswept Saskatchewan. Eighty-three-year-old Etta will be walking 3,200 kilometers to see the ocean, but somehow, Otto understands. He took his own journey once before, to fight in a faraway land. With Etta gone, Otto struggles with his demons of war, while their friend Russell initially pursues the woman he has loved from afar. And James --- well, James you have to meet on the page.

In Reconstruction-era America, vampire Henry Sturges is searching for renewed purpose in the wake of his friend Abraham Lincoln's shocking death. It will be an expansive journey that will send him first to England for an unexpected encounter with Jack the Ripper, then to New York City for the birth of a new American century, the dawn of the electric era of Tesla and Edison, and the blazing disaster of the 1937 Hindenburg crash.

Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm - Psychological Thriller

In Garland, Tennessee, two young men have just been paroled. Both were jailed for a crime that Grace planned in exacting detail. The heist went bad, but not before she was on a plane to Prague with a stolen canvas rolled in her bag. And so, in Paris, begins a cat-and-mouse waiting game as Grace’s web of deception and lies unravels --- and she becomes another young woman entirely.

The Bishop's Wife by Mette Ivie Harrison - Crime Fiction/Mystery

One cold winter night, a young wife and mother named Carrie Helm disappears, leaving behind everything she owns. Carrie’s husband, Jared, claims his wife has always been unstable and that she has abandoned the family. Linda Wallheim, a devout Mormon and the wife of a bishop, doesn’t trust him. As Linda snoops in the Helm family’s circumstances, she becomes convinced that Jared has murdered his wife and painted himself as a wronged husband.

The Deep by Nick Cutter - Horror

A strange plague called the ’Gets is decimating humanity on a global scale. It causes people to forget, and then their bodies forget how to function involuntarily. But now, far below the surface of the Pacific Ocean, a heretofore unknown substance hailed as “ambrosia” has been discovered --- possibly a universal healer. It’s up to a brave few to descend through the lightless fathoms in hopes of unraveling the mysteries lurking at those crushing depths…and perhaps to encounter an evil blacker than anything one could possibly imagine.

Mort(e) by Robert Repino - Science Fiction/Post-Apocalyptic Thriller

Former housecat turned war hero, Mort(e) is famous for taking on the most dangerous missions and fighting the dreaded human bio-weapon EMSAH. But the true motivation behind his recklessness is his ongoing search for a pre-transformation friend --- a dog named Sheba. When he receives a mysterious message from the dwindling human resistance claiming Sheba is alive, he begins a journey that will take him from the remaining human strongholds to the heart of the Colony, where he will discover the source of EMSAH and the ultimate fate of all of earth's creatures.

Siem Sigerius is a beloved, brilliant professor of mathematics with a promising future in politics. But there are elements of Siem's past that threaten to upend the peace and stability that he has achieved. When he stumbles upon a deception that’s painfully close to home, things begin to fall apart. A cataclysmic explosion in a fireworks factory, the advent of Internet pornography, and the reappearances of a discarded, dangerous son all play a terrible role in the spectacular fragmentation of the Sigerius clan.

Will has never been outside, at least not since he can remember. And he has certainly never gotten to know anyone other than his mother, a fiercely loving yet wildly eccentric agoraphobe who drowns in panic at the thought of opening the front door. But Will’s thirst for adventure can’t be contained. Clad in a protective helmet and unsure of how to talk to other kids, he finally ventures outside and is thrust headfirst into the throes of early adulthood and the dangers that everyday life offers.

Got goals? This empowering guide shows how to tackle your to-dos with confidence and enthusiasm so that you can transform anxiety into accomplishment.